Visit Eden

Plan your perfect Adventure...

English French German Italian Polish Portuguese Russian Spanish

Agricultural Shows in Eden

Penrith Arts Festival

Kids FREE Fridays at Ullswater 'Steamers'

Stage 4 of The OVO Energy Tour of Britain comes to Eden on Tuesday 10 September

Walking events in Eden

Back to List

Carrs Mine Trip and Open Day at Nenthead Mines

Location: Nenthead Mines, Nenthead, Alston, CA9 3PN

Date: 14 August 2019

You can take an underground tour of Carrs Mine, see our displays of minerals, mining equipment and historic photographs, and visit the 100 metre deep Brewery Shaft - where you can stand on top of the shaft. 

Then round your visit off with tea, coffee and homemade cakes. 

CARRS MINE TRIPS AND SITE OPEN DAYS IN 2019: 

  • Sunday 21 April 
  • Sunday 26 May 
  • Sunday 23 June 
  • Wednesday 3 July 
  • Sunday 14 July 
  • Wednesday 24 July 
  • Sunday 4 August 
  • Wednesday 14 August 
  • Sunday 25 August 
  • Wednesday 28 August 
  • Sunday 15 September 
  • Sunday 22 September 
  • Sunday 27 October

Our mine trips take about 90 minutes. We provide lamps and helmets. We recommend that you wear outdoor clothing and footwear. The mine is usually dry underfoot. We welcome all children who can walk and climb stairs - we don’t take babes in arms underground. 

We recommend booking in advance to get a mine trip - Call 07494 497868 or email admin@nentheadmines.com to book your place. 

You can just turn up on the day – we often have places available. Check by phoning 07494 497868. 

Donations for Visits: We ask for a donation of £5 per person. We are a cash or cheques operation.  All your donations go towards the conservation of the Nenthead Mines site. We are an All-Volunteer operation

  • Venue Information

Nenthead Mines

Nenthead Mines Conservation Society